top of page

We Chat With Hanna About Natural Beauty + Toxic Products

We chat to Hanna about everything natural beauty, specifically how to identify toxic products, natural beauty tips and favourite items!

I love how passionate you are about dishonesty within the beauty industry. How did you become interested in the not-so-natural beauty industry?

It all started with my journey of coming off the pill. I spent a lot of time researching how to minimize the intake of so-called Xenoestrogens, a type of Xenohormone, which imitates estrogens. Xenoestrogens are synthetic chemical compounds, which disturb the natural estrogen (and therefore hormone) balance in our bodies. This is how I learned that Xenoestrogens are used in pretty much all mainstream beauty products and shockingly also in a lot of ‘natural’ products (usually labelled as Parabens on the ingredients list). They are especially concerning for women, since hormones play a very important part in the regulation of many bodily functions. Once I started researching I couldn’t stop - and went straight down the rabbit hole.

What is your advice for identifying toxic products?

Firstly, do your own research! Don’t just believe what beauty companies want you to believe. Just because a product is labelled ‘natural’ doesn’t mean it truly is. The best source in my option is codecheck.info, a database for all kinds of commercial products including beauty products, showing the different ingredients and how concerning they are. The only downside is that the website is entirely in German, but I have friends who use it and translate the results into English, or simply look at the diagram showing the ratio of good and bad ingredients.

Otherwise I recommend avoiding the following ingredients:

- Sodium Lauryl/Laureth Sulfate

- Petrocemicals: Propylene Glycol, Parraffin, Mineral Oil, Butylene Gylcol, Isopropyl Alcohol and Petrolatum

- Fragrance/Parfum

-Diazolidinyl Urea and Imidazolidinyl Urea

- DEA (diethanolamine), MEA (monoethnanolamine), and TEA (triethanolamine)

- PVP/VA Copolymer

- Parabens: Butyl-, Propyl-, Methyl-, and Ethylparaben

- Triclosan

Do you have any natural beauty tips?

I started replacing a lot of beauty products with unrefined oils. I use Coconut Oil to take off my makeup, as a moisturizing facemask or a overnight hair treatment. Shea Butter instead of body lotion, Argan Oil for dry and bleached hair ends, Aloe Vera Gel for sunburns and mosquito bites, Rosehip Oil for dark under eye circles or to help with scaring.

Have you noticed a difference in your skin since transitioning to more natural products?

Yes! To my own surprise I really noticed a difference after switching my shampoo to a 100% natural one. I never gave this a thought, but it totally makes sense when you think about it, since shampoo goes directly on your scalp and the edges of your face. I had a few little bumps/ pimples on the sides of my face, which disappeared within days after starting to use a different shampoo.

Do you have any favourite natural beauty products?

My all time favourite natural beauty brand is Terra Naturi, which unfortunately is only available in Germany as far as I know. But some of my other favourites are Inika Cosmetics, Benecos, Alverde, Eco Store, Lavera, Eco Tan and Every Bit Organic (for natural, unprocessed oils).

Hanna's Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/hannamakesmoviies Hanna's Instagram: hannasplanet


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page